Sophisticated junk

Unlike Carlo, my husband, I’m not really into junk food.  However, when we did our grocery shopping last week, I noticed that more and more junk food have become sophisticated.  And these junk food caters to the masses!

Gone are the days when we only have a few choices in potato chips: usually cheese, orginal or bar-b-que flavors.  But now,  potato chips have  seaweed, shrimp, and even salmon sushi flavors! Many consumers have been lured to be adventurous when it comes to food. We’re not part of that group, but sometimes curiosity  bites, that’s why we bought those  two new chip flavors (shown above).

What can I say? The taste is not that mind-blowing, but it’s not that bad either.  The salmon chips taste a bit fishy, with a hint of wasabi, while Tokayaki tastes like Tokayaki- fried octupus.

According to food manufacturers, they aim to evolve and broaden their  flavors that’s why they offer new products in the market.

Well, i’ll probably try it once, if it’s good, i’ll be a fan, if not I  go back to my comfort flavor: cheese!

Leave a comment